Surprise!

If there is one thing I have learned about being a pastor’s wife, its that you never know what you are going to run into when you walk into church on Sunday morning.  My first one this morning was that I was the sole accompanist for worship today.  Another lady usually plays the organ in addition to my piano playing, but she was on vacation.

Now, let’s get this straight.  I can sort of play the piano.  I have gotten a lot better in the past year, but no one would want to listen to any piano concert I were to give at this point.  Hymns are singable…most of the time.  Really I just try to make it through the song.  I think they just appreciate not having to sing a capella whenever the other lady isn’t there. I’m learning that this is just kind of how things work in a small rural church. We are learning how to cope with these surprises and, although occasionally challenging, have provided a wealth of learning experiences about ministry and about ourselves and I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

Leave a Reply

