Friends

I’ve had a lot of people comment on how Aaron and I handle friends and being in large groups together in the last few months.  I like to say that we don’t have separation anxiety, but really I think it is more than that.  Aaron is out this evening seeing a friend in town and attending a college guys Bible study.  Honestly, part of me is enjoying the quiet apartment.  I’m being a nerd and catching up on my Greek in between working on this blog and tidying up the apartment.  I think the fact that we can be apart is a choice – a choice to be confident in each other’s love and commitment and a choice to remain able to operate and have fun without having the other attached at the hip.

I have to admit that I don’t know how accurate this is; we’ve only been married for two months.  Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with him.  I’ve found, however, that we have a lot of fun catching up after the fact, even when the separation was just during work when we were in the same building with different people.  Older couples have told us that this is healthy, but it is definitely something I am learning to balance.  The line between able to operate independently and have our own friends and neglecting each other is not one I have been able to draw yet.  I guess that is something we have the next fifty years to figure out. 

Leave a Reply

